Plug-in solar laws by US state
9 states have enacted plug-in solar laws, and 2 more have passed the legislature and await the governor. Being enacted is not the same as being in force: 5 of these laws are in effect now, and 4 do not take effect until later in 2026 or 2027. The rest are earlier in the process or have not been checked.
- AlabamaNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- AlaskaNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- ArizonaDid not pass (session ended)
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- ArkansasNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- CaliforniaPassed legislature, awaiting governor
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- In effect since August 12, 2026
- Max output
- 1,920 W
- Prior approval
- Utility may not require
- Notification
- Utility may require
- Enacted Starts October 1, 2026
- Max output
- 1,200 W
- Prior approval
- Utility may not require
- Notification
- None in Section 9
- DelawareDid not pass (session ended)
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- District of ColumbiaIn committee
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- FloridaNo statute found
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- GeorgiaDid not pass (session ended)
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- HawaiiDid not pass (session ended)
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- IdahoNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- IllinoisIn committee
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- IndianaNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- IowaNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- KansasNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- KentuckyNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- LouisianaNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- In effect since July 29, 2026
- Max output
- 420 / 1,200 W
- Prior approval
- Not stated
- Notification
- Above 420 W, within 30 days
- In effect since July 1, 2026
- Max output
- 1,200 W
- Prior approval
- Utility may not require
- Notification
- Required before installation
- MassachusettsPassed both chambers, in conference
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- MichiganIn committee
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- MinnesotaDid not pass (session ended)
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- MississippiNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- MissouriDid not pass (session ended)
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- MontanaNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- NebraskaNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- NevadaNo statute found
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- Enacted Starts January 1, 2027
- Max output
- 1,200 W AC
- Prior approval
- Utility may not require
- Notification
- Optional
- Enacted Starts March 1, 2027
- Max output
- 1,200 W
- Prior approval
- Utility may not require
- Notification
- None (exempt)
- New MexicoNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- Passed legislature, awaiting governor
- Max output
- 1,200 W (proposed)
- Prior approval
- Not stated (bill)
- Notification
- Not stated (bill)
- North CarolinaIn committee
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- North DakotaNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- OhioIn committee
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- OklahomaNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- OregonDid not pass (session ended)
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- PennsylvaniaIn committee
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- Rhode IslandPassed one chamber
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- South CarolinaIn committee
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- South DakotaNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- TennesseeNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- TexasNo statute found
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- In effect since May 7, 2025
- Max output
- 1,200 W
- Prior approval
- Utility may not require
- Notification
- None stated
- In effect since July 1, 2026
- Max output
- Up to 1,200 W
- Prior approval
- Utility may not require
- Notification
- None in the act
- Enacted Starts January 1, 2027
- Max output
- 1,200 W
- Prior approval
- Utility may not require
- Notification
- Before install (SCC form)
- WashingtonDid not pass (session ended)
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- West VirginiaNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- WisconsinNo statute found
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
- WyomingNot yet checked
- Max output
- Prior approval
- Notification
Checked 28 Aug 2026
Where a state has been read, its row links the bill or statute it describes. Checked 28 Aug 2026. What that means for your own home depends on your utility and your local code, which vary from place to place and change over time. Read the linked source before buying or plugging anything in.